Tuesday, December 13, 2011

Disney Falls For The "Fallen"

Walt Disney Pictures has optioned rights to the 2009 debuting, "sexy, fascinating, scary" young-adult fantasy novel series, "Fallen" by author Lauren Kate.

The story focuses on 'Luce', sent to 'Sword and Cross Reform School' in Savannah, Georgia, after she is accused of murdering a boy by starting a fire. At the reform school, she meets 'Daniel', a young man she feels inexplicably drawn to, and believes she has met before.

The book then revolves mostly around a "Twilight"-like love triangle between Luce, Daniel and 'Cam', another boy enrolled at Sword and Cross.

'Daniel' is a fallen angel - a heavenly being who chose, for a short time, to side with evil at the beginning of time - and Luce’s main romantic interest. He saves Luce from a falling statue of an angel in the cemetery adjoining the school, then feigns disinterest in Luce, trying to ignore her for her own 'safety', but drawn to her.

'Cam' is the antagonist of the story and Luce’s other romantic interest. He is also a fallen angel, with a tattoo of a sunburst on the back of his neck. He continuously tries to charm Luce, going to great lengths to capture her attention on numerous occasions.

The first sequel "Torment" was released in 2010.

The third book, "Passion", was released in 2011.

The fourth book, "Rapture" will be released Spring 2012.

Mark Ciardi and Gordon Gray will produce for Disney, through their Mayhem Productions.

Click the images to enlarge...